One of WhatsApp’s most frustrating sides is alerting all users in a group when you decide to quit one. So yes, if you plan to leave a family group, everyone will get a little note saying you have left, which can be awkward at times.
The problem is not limited to WhatsApp and is seen on other instant messaging apps as well. However, that could soon change. WhatsApp is reportedly working on a new feature that will allow users to discreetly exit unwanted groups.
As per WABetaInfo, the feature is currently under development and will be coming to a future update of the app. With the new feature, when a users leaves a group, only group admins will be notified of the exit. Other users will not be alerted.
A screenshot also reveals how the exit prompt will look to users.
The feature has currently been spotted in WhatsApp Desktop beta, but is very likely to also come to WhatsApp beta for Android and iOS later on. As with most features in testing, this one should also come to all devices with WhatsApp when a stable update rolls out, perhaps in a couple of months.
In other news, WhatsApp is reportedly adding the ability to include rich link previews in status updates (WhatsApp’s versions of the ‘Stories’ feature).
Another report by WABetaInfo shows that the latest beta versions of the app generate rich previews for links when they are shared in a status update.
Kenyan Business Feed is the top Kenyan Business Blog. We share news from Kenya and across the region. To contact us with any alert, please email us to [email protected]